Home > Uncategorized > UFC 140 Delivers

UFC 140 Delivers

Four out of five of the fights on last nights main card left me saying “wow” at each of there endings. I’m still left feeling some of the excitement nearly twenty-four hours later; after a night of fantastic fights shared with wonderful friends.

I’m going to try and give a brief overview of the four finishes.

"The Zombie" finishing "The Machine"

Mark “The Machine” Hominick and “The Korean Zombie” Chang Sung Jung began the night. The fight was shorter than the time spent introducing the men. I had my head turned to a friend babbling about something I can’t remember before I heard the commentators shouting that the fight had been finished.

Hominick threw a sloppy, lead left hook before being dropped by a straight-right from Jung. There were eight unanswered punches before the fight was called. Jung is tied for the fastest knockout, which is seven seconds.

Nogueira and Ortiz

Tito “The Huntington Beach Bad Boy” Ortiz (though he now wants to be called “The People’s Champ”) came out aggressive against Antonio “Minotouro” Rogerio Nogueira. Ortiz landed some good shots and tried for a takedown. Nogueira landed a left hand that left Ortiz stumbling into the cage. A left knee to the sternum of Ortiz sent him falling to the ground.

For a moment I thought Ortiz may survive as he pulled guard and even attempted a triangle. Nogueira was relentless with his ground and pound and was clearly hungry for a win. He abandoned striking to the head, and began pounding at Ortiz’s ribs. After a few elbows, Ortiz rolled over and the ref called the fight. Ortiz lay curled up on his side.

The two remaining bouts after the jump…

Mir working to finish Big Nog with the kimura

Frank Mir and Antonio “Minotauro” Rodrigo Nogueira (confusing I know, but this is the older twin brother of the previously mentioned Noguira) had some unfinished business to attend to after their first fight in 2008.

After a minor clinch battle Mir scored a takedown. Big Nog was quick to get back to his feet and connected with a right hand that sent Mir stumbling. After a few more strikes Mir fell to the ground and commentator Joe Rogan began shouting “he’s out! he’s out!” Instead of continuing to throw punches Big Nog opted to try for a submission, (maybe out of pride for his country?) but Mir managed to reverse the attempt and locked in a kimura.

Big Nog didn’t tap until his arm was broken. I cringed. I wouldn’t hold my breath on Big Nog returning to the cage. He may disagree, but I don’t think he has anything left to prove.

Machida avoiding a spinning back kick from Jones

Now onto the main event between Jon “Bones” Jones and Lyoto “The Dragon Machida.

For most of the first round the two men maintained their distance. Machida tagged Jones a few times with the first clean shots to the face that he has ever been hit with. Machida lunged in with the flurries of punches that I expected he would. He threw some front kicks while Jones tried to land some spinning back kicks.

I was honestly starting to think that Machida may walk away with a TKO before the round ended.

At the start of round two I found myself really admiring Machida’s karate stance. I can’t really think of anyone else who utilizes a stance like this. He puts most of his weight on his lead leg and his rear leg is placed much further back. Though I spent a good portion of my life taking karate, I have adopted more of a boxing stance. Watching Machida fight reminds me of where I have come from.

Machida tagged Jones a few more times before Jones came in and tore Machida to the ground. Some vicious elbows opened up a cut on Machida’s forehead. Machida managed to get back to his feet before a doctor stepped in to examine the cut. He was deemed okay to continue fighting.

Machida stepped forward and Jones dropped him with a left. Jones sunk in a standing guillotine and the ref stopped the fight. Jones let go and walked away while Machida’s unconscious body dropped to the ground.

There are no guarantees in MMA, but I expect Jones to hold onto his belt for a long time.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jordan
    December 17, 2011 at 7:27 am

    Yo homie,

    I wouldn’t post a link to MMAshare…

    I don’t exactly know the legality of all those things but there is a possibility you could get in trouble. Or maybe I’m just being paranoid.

    But if Jon Jones appears at your door and kicks you in the head, at least you’ll know why…

  2. December 17, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    haha you know I did give that some thought. I figured since this blog probably wasn’t going to end up being big that it wouldn’t be a huge deal. No one from bloodyelbow said anything about it. But since I myself have questioned whether I should, and with you saying something, I think I’ll remove the links. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

