Home > Uncategorized > Broken Arms and Broken Hearts

Broken Arms and Broken Hearts

I really love mixed martial arts. Maybe that seems like a silly thing to write given that I chose to start this blog in the first place.

Big Nog looking at his broken arm

I’ve never followed another sport the way I do this one. I’m a bandwagon fan at best of most other sports. I casually follow Boston teams. If any Boston teams make it to the playoffs I’ll tune in. I follow the Patriots on a weekly basis, but I won’t plan my day around them. I honestly couldn’t tell you much about any of the players.

But when there are on fights on I am tuning in with a fevered interest.

The first thing I do when I wake up is check MMA news and that is the same thing I do before I fall asleep.

What truly lures me into the world of MMA I think can be summed up by what took place between Frank Mir and “Minotauro” Nogueira last night.

I love Nogueira for the same reasons many others would say. The man has always been able to take a beating and find a way to pull off some crazy Hail Mary finish. And on top of that he just seems like a really great guy.

When Mir went stumbling after Nog tagged him with a right hand I went nuts. When Mir fell face first to the ground I thought Nog had it for sure. But when Nog tried for the submission and ended up losing position I was slightly worried. Mir grabbed a hold of a kimura, but I thought Nog would somehow survive.

Then his arm was broken. Honestly it broke my heart. Even if Nog wasn’t one of my favorite fighters I still probably would have felt bad for him.

More after the jump…

 

 

Big Nog on his way to get his arm fixed.

There wasn’t much I could do for him aside from crack open another PBR and swear at Frank Mir through the television.

This is the thrill of MMA; the highs and lows a fan can feel in mere seconds. I’m not too sure other sports can provide this feelings. I’m sure some may disagree and I’m certainly open to hearing arguments.

I’m not sure if this blog will continue after my semester is over. These post were made out of an obligation to fulfill an assignment, but it never felt like that.

I have been in talks with some close friends about adding them as authors. I have hopes of this blog expanding, but with life’s many demands I won’t ask anyone to hold their breath.

In the back of my mind I don’t think this will be the final post, but for not I will say thank you to all those that viewed. Thanks for your comments and thanks for sharing your interest and opinions as well.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

