Home > Uncategorized > Heavy Hands

Heavy Hands

Well I was partially right in my last post, though it would appear mostly wrong.

Velasquez did not win via ground and pound; he never even got the chance to bring the fight to the ground.

And I’m not sure the battle I predicted really happened either seeing as the fight was over in sixty-four seconds.

I did say I was sure the fight wouldn’t last the full five rounds, so I’ll pat myself on the back for that.

So what happened?

Velasquez and Dos Santos at the weigh ins

First let me say that right before the referee (Big John McCarthy) said “let’s get it on,” I was nervous. I’m not sure I could explain why, but my buddy next to me stated that he was nervous as well.

The two men met in the center of the octagon. Velasquez held his hands high and Dos Santos kept his lead hand low.

Velasquez landed the first shot with a leg kick. He would land another four, which would count for his total offense throughout the fight. He did catch a front kick thrown by Dos Santos in an attempt to take the fight to the floor, but Dos Santos shrugged him off.

Neither man’s punches counted for much until a bomb of an overhand right thrown by Dos Santos at 4:05 of the round.

The punch landed right behind Velasquez’s left ear and he dropped ending up on his back. Dos Santos swarmed, and with killer instinct threw nine punches before Velasquez rolled to his side and for a moment went limp.

Big John quickly stepped in to stop the fight, and though Cain was quick to get up he did not protest the stoppage.

Dos Santos after the fight had been stopped

I’ll admit I was hoping for a few rounds of close back and forth action, but the beauty of this sport is that it can be finished at any given point, in any fashion, by either man.

So congratulations to Junior, he is certainly one bad man.

(Highlights from the fight can be seen here)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 16, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Ahhh I wish i watched it! Your post makes me envious and kicking myself in the ass for not doing so. Are they still showing the fight on tv or where could I watch it? any suggestions!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

