Home > Uncategorized > Mental Lapse

Mental Lapse

Former UFC heavyweight champion Tim Sylvia once said that 50% of the fight game was 90% mental. Now overlooking the issue of that statement not making sense, he had the right idea.

Fights can be won or lost before a single foot makes its way into the ring. All the preparation in the world won’t mean anything if you shut down mentally in the ring.

Night before training with coach David Hardman

I did just that in my first MMA fight last November.

When the bell sounded for the start of the round I walked towards my opponent looking to throw a right hand right through his face.

He had other ideas.

He shot in for a takedown and I froze. Despite the time spent drilling take down defense my body didn’t react.

Next thing I know I’m on my back getting punched in the face. I wasn’t feeling any pain; I was more annoyed with myself for being in that position. I rolled over exposing my back, which is something you are never suppose to do when grappling.

He wrapped his arm around my neck, and even though it wasn’t tight, I tapped.

I was embarrassed and swore I would never have that kind of mental lapse again.

Live and learn right?

After training

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 10, 2011 at 2:33 am

    I had no idea that you fought. That is pretty bad ass if you ask me. I’ve always wondered what that would be like or if I would be able to survive in the ring at all.

    I think you have a great talent for description. That is present here in this post for sure. Keep up the good work and let me know when your next fight is.

    • November 10, 2011 at 12:59 am

      Hah, thanks Danny. I’m sure we could get you in there someday! I’m hoping to fight soon, there’s some talk of fights happening in Revere around New Years. I’ll be sure to let you know.

  2. November 10, 2011 at 4:36 am

    I like how you combined Sylvias training methods and outlooks of the power of mental stability with your own style of training. I agree with dsylvester, your description of your current fight or practice makes me feel like I’m right outside the ring watching it all happen. But if I was there, I would probably encourage you not to be embarrassed. As one athlete to another, you’ll get him next time slugger. Can’t wait for the next post. And i like the layout, very clean and evenly distributed.

    • November 10, 2011 at 1:03 am

      Thanks, and yes the next time went much better. I’m sure you know the trials and tribulations of putting so much work into something just to have it go so poorly when the time comes to perform. But I guess that’s why we keep at it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

