Home > Uncategorized > Heavyweight Premiere on FOX

Heavyweight Premiere on FOX

The UFC will air on network television for the first time this Saturday on FOX.

Considering the sport was once labeled as “human cockfighting” and banned from pay-per-view in the early days, this advancement is huge.

There will be preliminary fights that air on facebook, but only the main event will air on FOX. The UFC went big with their main event, treating fans to a heavyweight show down between champion Cain Velasquez and challenger Junior Dos Santos.

FOX did a nice job with the promo using a popular Rolling Stones song to get the audiences attention.

Valasquez has gone 7-0 in the UFC with six finishes by way of knockout. Though a former wrestling champion at Arizona State University, he has been able to implement all aspects of being a mixed martial artist.

Dos Santos also has gone 7-0 in the UFC with five knockouts. Nicknamed “Cigano” for gypsy, he is labeled the best boxer in the heavyweight division.

So what happens when these two meet?

The two things I’m sure of is it will not go all five rounds, and these two will collide in an absolute battle.

If I had to pick, I would say Velasquez via ground and pound.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 9, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    I’m surprised that, given its popularity, UFC hasn’t garnered support from the networks sooner.I’m wondering why FOX won the bid over the others. Also, Versus is probably a little upset. There’s certainly a chance they could lose the rights if Saturday’s fight pulls in big ratings.

  2. November 9, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    I’m not sure it has the same mainstream popularity as other sports like football or baseball, which I think is why it has taken so long to get attention from a network like FOX. The UFC had their last show with Versus at the start of October, I’m sure they aren’t too happy. I know Spike is feeling bitter as they are counter programming the show this Saturday with previous fights of both Junior and Cain. The contract between Spike and the UFC official runs out at the end of the year.

  3. Jordan
    November 10, 2011 at 8:09 am

    My only concern is that the UFC will overkill their product. Dana White says they are going to expand to 30 events next year, which is like a fight every other weekend. This would appear like a good idea but sometimes you can have too much of a good thing. I think as the quantity of events goes up the quality might decrease.

    There will certainly be lesser-name fighters throughout the card, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing i.e. UFC Live 6 Cruz vs Johnson or last weeks UFC 138 Leben vs Munoz. Both were great cards, at UFC Live 6, eight of the ten fights were finished and the two fights that did go to decision were back and forth battles. I just think that the casual fan will be less inclined to watch these events highlighted by lesser-known fighters up and down the card. And if you skip an event here or an event there you might start losing interest altogether.

    My friends and I used to watch every event but as the number of events increases it becomes harder and harder for us all to get together. So we kind of have to pick and choose which events to watch. I know, for us anyway, we would prefer quality cards once or twice a month as opposed to 30 or more events in a year.

    Also I like both Cain and JDS…Cain is obviously more well rounded but JDS has better knockout power. I can’t decide who wins this fight, and usually those are the fights that go to decision. But these two almost never go to decision…Cain by TKO…Or JDS by knockout…

    I’ll go JDS by knockout so we have contrasting picks.

    Also thanks for having an awesome blog.

    • November 10, 2011 at 10:02 am

      I absolutely agree with you. As much I love the sport, I remember a couple of summers ago feeling a little burnt out from so many events. Dana is actually planning on running 34 events next year, which leaves us with like one week off a month. Besides the issue of quality is the issue of what I assume will be a lack of coverage for so many events. People aren’t going to be able to keep up.

      138 was great. So many people had written that card off before it even happened. I actually looked away for a moment and missed the Terry Etim finish.

      I think we’ll have to continue having friendly bets, always makes the fights that much more interesting.

      Thanks for the support, and I hope I can keep the blog interesting for you. Glad to have met another fan.

  4. November 12, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    I don’t know much about UFC, so I’ll be keeping an eye on this blog. I like your approach to the topic, especially since you also take part in MMA. I don’t know if putting UFC on regular TV will be a step forward for the sport, or a step back. I mean, it’s a great step towards publicity, but I think a lot of the ‘gritty edge’ comes from being somewhat underground. I can’t think of the right word currently, because it is more popular than true underground things. Maybe you understand what I’m trying to say, or maybe I’m just being a fool.
    Anyway, I’ll be back here at some point.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

